Each UN SDG Action Awards submission will be reviewed by the UN SDG Action Campaign team. All short-listed initiatives are assessed and scored by the UN SDG Action Awards Judges, a diverse group of leading experts from the UN, intergovernmental organizations, civil society, the creative sector, the philanthropic community and the private sector.

The selection process for 2020 judges is still underway. See the 2019 judges below.

Federica Mogherini

High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy / Vice-President of the Commission

Ulrika Modéer

Director of Bureau for External Relations and Advocacy, United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)

Jayathma Wickramanayake

UN Secretary-General’s Envoy on Youth

Hiroko Kuniya

Independent Journalist

Oli Henman

Global Coordinator, Action for Sustainable Development

Susan Myers

Senior Vice President, UN Foundation

Anna Scavuzzo

Vice Mayor, Milan

Dawda Jobarteh

Global Head, UN SDG Strategy Hub

Markus Hipp

Director, BMW Foundation

Ayman Cherkaoui

Coordinator at the Mohammed VI Foundation for Environmental Protection

Dr. Claire Melamed

Executive Director, Global Partnership for Sustainable Development Data

Jonathan Herzfeld

Founder and Executive Director at fiiS.org

Ingo Ritz

Director, Global Call to Action Against Poverty (GCAP)

Dr. Ifeolu Joseph Falegan

Global Health Consultant and Former Senior Advisor on SDGs, Office of the President of Nigeria

Ariadna Bardolet

Director of International Programs at La Caixa Foundation

Eva Murray

Head of Business Intelligence, Exasol

Elhadi Abdalla Mohamed

International Director of Region Middle East & North Africa, SOS Children’s Villages International

Mashid Mohadjerin

Photojournalist/ Portrait Photographer

Innocent Chukwuma

Director, West Africa- Ford Foundation

Arrey Obenson

Secretary General, Junior Chamber International (JCI)

Emilia Saiz

Secretary General, United Cities and Local Governments

Yoshioka Tatsuya

Founder and Director, Peace Boat

Yusuf Omar

Mobile Journalist/ Founder, Hashtag Our Stories

Phyllis MacFarlane

Treasurer, ESOMAR Foundation, and Paragon Partnerships

Felix Zimmerman

OECD DevCom Coordinator & Freelance Consultant

Shain Shapiro

Founder & President , Sound Diplomacy